NEW ARTIST STATEMENT

This has been in the works for sometime, but I finally cleaned this artist statement up and put it all together. This is a new summary of my work that I feel is very accurate about what I am thinking when I make my art.

I am an Austin native who has been producing art since I received my Studio Art degree from UT in 2001. I have focused on illustration, painting, and ceramics in the past, and now am delving into the field of digital art. My art has a unique style that is influenced by both classical and modern visual themes. Following is a short statement about my art.

Japanese prints of flowers, animals, and nature scenes provide a window into the intricacy and ideal of design that is evident in the natural world around us. Technology has developed a new aesthetic element that has an innate design style in a similar manner. Having lived in the modern era of art and mankind, my visual ideals have started to incorporate design elements that are analogous to these components. These design elements are combined with other art principles such as pattern and rhythm, and allowed to play out in a composition carefully considering balance and specific design ideals. The result is a window into an often surreal world that incorporates other themes such as science fiction, fantasy, and classical art.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

